Hit & Run Defense Attorneys in Marlton
Domers Bonamassa Protecting Your Rights & Reputation
Do not take a hit-and-run charge in lightly. It is a serious offense that can carry devastating consequences that could affect you both personally and professionally for the rest of your life. If you face hit-and-run charges in New Jersey, seek legal help with a Marlton hit and run lawyer to discuss the best course of action and navigate legal obstacles.
Possible Penalties for a Hit & Run Conviction
The penalties for a hit-and-run accident are no laughing matter. The state of New Jersey takes these charges very seriously, and the prosecution may attempt to push for the strictest sentence possible in your case.
Under the guidelines provided in the New Jersey Statutes Annotated 39:4-129, an individual convicted of hit and run that results in injury or death to another person can face penalties of:
- A fine between $2,500 and $5,000
- Up to 180 days in jail
- The revocation of a driver’s license for up to one year, if it is the driver’s first hit-and-run offense
Furthermore, if the driver is a subsequent offender, he or she likely will lose his or her driver’s license permanently.
How a Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help
Due to the penalties, a hit-and-run conviction can carry, it advisable to seek the assistance of a legal professional in New Jersey who can help you in your defense.
Some examples of defense tactics for hit-and-run charges include:
- Showing evidence that you were not actually driving the car at the time of the accident, and therefore weren’t responsible
- Proving that you were not actually involved in the accident at all and that you have been falsely accused of leaving the scene
- Demonstrating that you were actually unaware that any damage had occurred and drove off nonetheless
Other defenses may be applicable to your case as well. For example, if the other driver was belligerent and you feared for your safety or that of your passengers and decided to drive away, it may be a valid excuse for doing so. This will depend on the evidence and circumstances of the accident.
It is also important to note that an accident still may be considered a hit and run if you caused any property damage, however minor, and still fled the scene. Even in these scenarios, the penalties could have serious implications that affect your future. In the event you are charged with fleeing the scene of an accident in which only property damage was sustained, you still should retain legal help.
Contact Us Today for Assistance
Dealing with a hit-and-run charge can be a frightening endeavor, especially without the aid of a legal representative guiding you through the process. If you are being charged with this crime in New Jersey, contact the criminal defense attorneys Domers Bonamassa today.
Our Marlton hit and run lawyers can examine the nature of your case and begin crafting a defense strategy that is personalized to your case. You can reach us by calling (856) 596-2888.