DUI Lawyer in Marlton
The Skilled Defense You Deserve
The state of New Jersey takes drunk driving, officially known as driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while impaired (DWI), very seriously. Once you are stopped by law enforcement and submit to a Breathalyzer test to gauge your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level and that level is 0.08 percent or higher, you are considered to be driving under the influence in the State of New Jersey.
We defend DUI and DWI charges for individuals throughout New Jersey, including Gloucester County, Burlington County, Camden County, Ocean County, Atlantic County, Cape May County, Cumberland County, and Salem County. Simply reach out to our Marlton DUI attorney today to find out more about how we can help you!
A DUI/DWI conviction seriously affects your quality of life. If convicted, you could face heavy penalties that include:
- Fines, fees, and recurring surcharges
- License suspension
- Ignition interlock device
- Jail time
- Community service
The severity of the penalties depends on the level of alcohol or drugs found in your blood and whether this is your first offense or a repeat offense. Fines can rise as high as $1,000, surcharges as high as $1,000 per year for each of three years, loss of license for up to 10 years, and prison terms of up to 180 days.
Will I Lose my License for a DUI?
This is the most common question individuals facing a first-time DUI charge ask. The answer is not 100% clear-cut, but yes, in many DUI cases, one of the consequences is temporarily losing the driver’s license.
Depending on the state where the offense occurred, and the specifics of your arrest, the court or the department of motor vehicles can suspend your license. The suspension’s duration varies greatly and depends on evidence produced by the arresting officer and any witnesses or experts in court.
Factors Affecting License Loss in DUI Cases
There are multiple factors that can affect the outcome of a DUI case, and your attorney can help sort through the facts of your arrest to determine the most likely consequences.
For example, DUI’s that involve an offender who refused to take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test automatically result in a predetermined loss of license. The other events surrounding the case are irrelevant in this situation. If you’ve refuse the BAC, which can be administered by breathalyzer at the scene or by blood test, you can expect to lose your license.
Another factor that affects the outcome of a DUI case is driving history. First-time DUI offenders may lose their driver’s licenses for as short a period as 90 days before they are eligible for restoration. In addition, some drivers may be eligible for a temporary work permit during the suspension period, which grants legal permission to drive only to and from work and home. Ask your attorney if you might qualify for this type of driving permit if you need transportation to your job during the time when your license will be suspended.
License Suspension for Multiple DUI’s
Repeat DUI offenders are faced with increasingly lengthy driver’s license suspensions (typically up to a period of one year) as well as potential jail time. If you’ve had a DUI before and recently were arrested for DUI again, you will want to seek a lawyer’s help to help navigate the legal process and ensure that your rights are protected.
Your BAC level affects the severity of the consequences of your DUI arrest. Individuals who test at a level close to the legal limit, sometimes can seek a plea bargain with the help of an attorney. A plea bargain may reduce the charge to a lesser offense, such as reckless driving, which would not warrant a driver’s license suspension. However, if you have a very high BAC level, such as .16 (or twice the legal limit), the possibility of leniency is much less likely, and the court may impose costlier and lengthier sanctions.
Experienced DWI Legal Help Is Your Best Resource for DUI/DWI Charges
This is a time when you need a local lawyer with substantial experience in successfully defending people against DUI charges in New Jersey, and particularly South Jersey. Domers Bonamassa has handled numerous cases and appeals. We know how to investigate the use of the breath tests to question whether it was administered properly. We know how to determine whether all legal procedures were properly followed. With ten years of experience, including having served as a Burlington County prosecutor, we know just how to anticipate the case against you.
With a meticulous attention to detail, use of expert testimony, and respect for you and your case, Domers Bonamassa can be your best resource to defend against DUI and drunk driving charges in New Jersey.
Got into some stupid trouble and Tim Farrow saved me.
“Got into some stupid trouble and Tim Farrow saved me, big time, I mean big time — Tim is the only guy that will truly have your back!”
–K.E., Satisfied Client
I can’t thank you enough for your expert work on both my cases.
“Mr. Farrow has represented me on two separate occasions when the outcomes could have resulted in very harsh outcomes. Mr. Farrow expertly and vigorously defended me in both cases obtaining results that were better than I could ever imagine. ”
–T.S., Satisfied Client
Serious Issues Require Serious Counsel
When you need experienced, focused, and responsive DWI legal help, call Domers Bonamassa at (856) 596-2888. Our DUI lawyer in Marlton is here to support your needs.